PreparedStates
Home › Best gear › Coolers for power outages › Igloo MaxCold 70 qt
Review · Coolers for power outagesResearched

Igloo MaxCold 70 qt review

Igloo MaxCold 70-Quart Cooler

By Tom Calder

Key specs

The maker's figures.

Capacity
70 qt
Ice retention (maker)
—
Weight
—
Our verdict · Researched
4.0 / 5

A similar size and price to the Coleman 70-quart: a sensible second cooler for a freezer's contents.

Best for
Another budget 70-quart
Skip it if
You want the longest-lasting ice
Check price at Amazon →

We earn a commission if you buy through the retailer links on this page. It doesn't change our verdict. How we make money →

Researched, not used. We haven't used this product. This review is built from the maker's specifications, owner reports and our own sizing.

What we like

  • 70 qt
  • Low price

Worth knowing

  • Ice claim not stated in the listing

ⓘ As an Amazon Associate, PreparedStates earns from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. It never changes what we recommend. Amazon prices come from Amazon's own product data and can change at any time.

Our review

The Igloo MaxCold 70-quart is a hard-sided cooler that Igloo rated for 114 12-ounce cans and up to five days of ice. This review uses Igloo's own product page, an archived copy, since we could not find a current one, and sets its ice claim beside Ready.gov's rules for food in an outage.

What Igloo says it is

Igloo's page for item 00049494 describes the MaxCold as a 70-quart cooler holding 114 12-ounce cans, with a capacity of 66.24 liters. It lists the weight at 11.4 pounds and the exterior at 29.5 by 16.5 by 15.88 inches.

Igloo's own site no longer shows a current page for this model that we could find, so the figures here come from a copy of Igloo's page archived in August 2020. Check the numbers on the cooler's box or label, since Igloo may have revised the line since.

Insulation and the five-day claim

The headline claim is "Ultratherm insulation in body and lid holds ice up to 5 days." Igloo's feature list repeats it as 5 days of ice retention. The page does not say what temperature, how much ice or how often the lid was opened, so treat it as a best case from the maker.

Igloo's page gives no guidance on how weather, the load or opening the lid affect that figure, so do not plan an outage around the full five days.

Inside space and handling

Igloo lists two interior sizes, because the walls taper: 24.63 by 12.75 by 12.75 inches at the top and 23.25 by 11.5 by 12.75 inches at the bottom. Check those figures against the containers you plan to store.

The page lists reinforced swing-up handles with a tie-down loop, and a threaded drain plug that can take a hose for draining. Igloo gives the empty weight as 11.4 pounds; once it is loaded with ice and food, the handles are what you will carry it by. Igloo's warranty line covers defects in materials or workmanship for 1 year from original purchase.

Using a cooler in an outage

Ready.gov's power outage advice is to keep refrigerators and freezers closed. It says a refrigerator will keep food cold for about four hours and a full freezer for about 48 hours, and that coolers with ice can be used if necessary. It adds that you should monitor temperatures with a thermometer and throw out food at 40 degrees or higher.

The practical use for a 70-quart cooler is as a second fridge: move the items you open most into it so the refrigerator door stays shut. Put an appliance thermometer inside. Our guide to food safety in a power outage covers what to keep and what to throw away, and the cooler comparison lists other sizes.

Who should skip it

Skip it if you want ice for a week or more, since Igloo's own page stops at five days and gives no test conditions for that figure. This one makes sense as an extra cooler for an outage, a picnic or a camping trip, and our cooler comparison lists other sizes and makers.

A researched review, built from the maker's specs, manual and US listings; facts checked 30 Oct 2026. Sources: Igloo: MaxCold 70 Qt Cooler (Igloo's product page, archived August 2020); Ready.gov: power outages.

Who shouldn't buy this

Don't buy it if you want the longest-lasting ice.

How this review works

This is a Researched review: we haven't used this product. We check every specification against at least two independent sources, re-check the US price on a schedule where we can track it automatically, and say plainly who it isn't for. Commissions never change a rating.

How we review →Full methodology →

If this isn’t the one

See every coolers for power outages pick compared →

Questions

How many cans does the Igloo MaxCold 70-quart hold?

Igloo's page lists 114 12-ounce cans and 70 quarts. That capacity is for cans alone; with ice in the box you will fit fewer, and Igloo does not state an ice-to-food ratio.

How long does ice last in it?

Igloo says Ultratherm insulation in the body and lid holds ice up to 5 days. The page gives no test conditions, so expect less on a hot day, with frequent opening, or when the box is partly empty.

Can I use a cooler to keep food safe when the power is out?

Ready.gov says use coolers with ice if necessary, monitor temperatures with a thermometer, and throw out food that has been at 40 degrees or higher. A cooler with an inside thermometer lets you check that, instead of guessing.

Does it have a drain?

Yes. Igloo lists a threaded drain plug for optional hose hook-up, so melted water can be drained without tipping the cooler. The page does not say whether a hose adapter is included.