Generac 10kW review
Generac 10kW Whole Home Standby Generator with Transfer Switch (G0073210)
By Tom Calder
Key specs
The maker's figures.
- Rated output (listing)
- 10,000 W
- Transfer switch
- Included (the listing doesn't give its amps)
- Fuel
- Propane (LP) or natural gas
- Weight
- 384 lb
- Warranty
- 5-year limited
The smallest Generac standby unit: 10 kW, which covers the essentials rather than the whole house. By DTE Energy's figures that's room for a fridge, a furnace fan, a well pump, lights and the internet together, but not a 3-ton central air conditioner, which DTE puts at 18,000 watts to start. It runs on your propane or natural gas supply and starts by itself within seconds of an outage. The listing includes a transfer switch but doesn't give its rating, so confirm it with your installer.
- Best for
- The essentials, automatically: fridge, furnace, well pump, lights and internet
- Skip it if
- You need central air in an outage
We earn a commission if you buy through the retailer links on this page. It doesn't change our verdict. How we make money →
Researched, not used. We haven't used this product. This review is built from the maker's specifications, owner reports and our own sizing.
What we like
- Starts by itself on propane or natural gas
- Transfer switch included
- Cellular monitoring in the Mobile Link app
Worth knowing
- 10 kW: not enough to start central air
- The listing doesn't give the transfer switch's amps
ⓘ As an Amazon Associate, PreparedStates earns from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. When two products are close, commission can decide which one we pick. A clearly better product always wins. Amazon prices come from Amazon's own product data and can change at any time.
Our review
Generac's 10 kW home standby generator (base model G007321) is the smallest unit in its air-cooled range, bundled with a transfer switch, running on propane or natural gas and starting itself when the power fails. This researched review reads Generac's product page, says what 10 kW will and will not run, and sets out the siting and carbon monoxide rules from Ready.gov and CDC.
What Generac lists
Generac's page lists the 10 kW standby generator bundled with a transfer switch, base model G007321, with a rated maximum continuous capacity of 10 kW on either liquid propane or natural gas. The engine is Generac's G-Force 800, the enclosure is aluminum, the controller is the Power Zone 200, and the unit weighs 334 lb at 46.4 by 26.3 by 30.7 inches. The main line circuit breaker is listed as 60 A.
Generac says built-in cellular connectivity lets you monitor and control the generator through Mobile Link from anywhere, that every Generac standby generator comes with a 5-year limited warranty, and that its generators and engines are engineered and assembled in the USA. The page does not state the transfer switch's amp rating or circuit count, so confirm that with your installer before you order.
What 10 kW covers
Ten kilowatts is an essentials budget. It will carry a refrigerator and freezer, a furnace blower, a well pump, lights, a router and a few outlets together, which is what most households need to ride out a multi-day outage in comfort. It is not enough to start a 3-ton central air conditioner on top of that, which is why Generac sells the same cabinet in 14, 18, 22 and 26 kW versions.
Our guide to generator sizing on the whole-house page and the power outage checklist help you add up your circuits. If central air in an outage is non-negotiable, the 26 kW with 200-amp switch is the one to read next.
Fuel and installation
The generator connects to your existing propane tank or natural gas line, so there is no gasoline to store, but a natural gas line may need upsizing and a propane tank needs to be large enough for several days of running. Installation means a concrete or composite pad, gas piping, a permit, and a licensed electrician to fit the transfer switch at the service panel. Budget for the install as a separate line item; it is often a large share of the total.
Generac's 5-year warranty terms say the generator must be installed and activated for the warranty to apply, so keep the installer's paperwork.
Siting and carbon monoxide
A standby unit sits outdoors by design, but the siting rules still apply. Ready.gov says generators and fuel should always be used outdoors and at least 20 feet away from windows, doors and attached garages, and CDC's carbon monoxide page says to use generators only outside, more than 20 feet away from any windows, doors and vents. Local code and Generac's installation manual set the exact clearances; your installer must follow both.
CDC also says that when using a generator, use a battery-powered or battery backup CO detector in your home. Our carbon monoxide guide, generator safety guide and CO alarm comparison cover the alarms and placement.
How it compares, and who should skip it
The 14 kW model 7323 adds 4 kW and a 200-amp service-rated switch with built-in surge protection for a modest step in price, and is the better buy for most homes. A portable dual-fuel generator with a HomeLink transfer switch costs far less but needs you home to start it and refuel.
Skip the 10 kW if you want central air or an electric range in an outage, if your home has a 200-amp service you want switched whole, or if you are not ready for a permitted install. Skip any standby generator if your outages are a few hours a year: a power station is enough.
A researched review, built from the maker's specs, manual and US listings; facts checked 2 Nov 2026. Sources: Generac: Home Standby Generator, 10kW with Transfer Switch (G007321) product page; Generac: 5-year warranty terms; Ready.gov: power outages; CDC: carbon monoxide poisoning basics.
Who shouldn't buy this
Don't buy it if you need central air in an outage: look at the 22 or 26 kW.
This is a Researched review: we haven't used this product. We check every specification against at least two independent sources, re-check the US price on a schedule where we can track it automatically, and say plainly who it isn't for. Commissions never change a rating.
If this isn’t the one
Best for A whole home that wants a long warranty from a maker other than Generac
See the comparison →Best for A large home that wants a second brand besides Generac at the 26 kW size
See the comparison →Best for Most of a mid-size home, minus central air
Read the review →Questions
Will the Generac 10 kW run central air conditioning?
Not alongside the rest of the house. Ten kilowatts covers a refrigerator, furnace fan, well pump, lights and outlets, but a 3-ton central air unit needs far more to start. Look at the 22 or 26 kW units for that.
Does it include a transfer switch?
Yes, Generac lists it as bundled with a transfer switch, but the product page does not state the switch's amp rating or circuit count. Ask your installer to confirm before buying.
What fuel does it use?
Liquid propane or natural gas, at 10 kW rated capacity on either. It connects to your existing supply, so the natural gas line or propane tank must be sized for several days of running.
How far from the house must it sit?
Ready.gov says at least 20 feet from windows, doors and attached garages; CDC says more than 20 feet from windows, doors and vents. Local code and Generac's manual set the exact clearances, and a battery-backed CO alarm indoors is a must.