Best pepper spray and gel (2026), and the rules where you live
Pepper spray is for one thing: helping you get away. This page compares sprays and gels from SABRE, POM and Mace by how you'd carry them: on your keys, in your hand on a run, or as a gel for windy days and indoors. Every figure is the maker's own, from its page on Nov 4, 2026; we haven't tested them. Further down are the rules in states that set their own limits, read from the state's law, and TSA's rule for flying.
By Tom Calder · Updated November 4, 2026 · 9 products, prices indicative

Our picks
POM Key Model
A keychain spray whose maker publishes its full formula
SABRE Runner Gel
Runners and walkers: it straps to your palm and resists wind
SABRE Crossfire Gel
A bigger gel canister for a bag, belt or bedside, indoors or in wind
POM Home Defense
A pistol-grip unit kept at home, not carried
SABRE Practice Spray
Practicing the draw, aim and spray before you ever need the real thing
All 9 compared
| Spray | Type | Size (maker) | Range (maker) | Spray time (maker) | Formula (as stated) | UV dye | Safety | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Stream · 1/2 fl oz · Up to 12 ft · Up to 10 seconds (up to 20 bursts) · 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids · Flip top A keychain spray whose maker publishes its full formula | Stream | 1/2 fl oz | Up to 12 ft | Up to 10 seconds (up to 20 bursts) | 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids | — | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched POM is the only maker here that publishes both its OC percentage and its major capsaicinoids: 10% OC with 1.40% major capsaicinoids. The half-ounce keychain unit gives up to 20 bursts or 10 seconds of spray to about 12 ft, and the flip-top cap lets you aim with your thumb on the button. It's a stream, so aim matters, and POM doesn't ship to Alaska, DC, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Massachusetts or New York. Best for A keychain spray whose maker publishes its full formula Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you want UV marking dye, which POM doesn't list for this model. | ||||||||
Gel stream · 0.67 oz · 12 ft (spec table says 12 to 16 ft) · 13 seconds (35 bursts) · SABRE Red Gel (OC; strength not stated on the page) · Yes · Twist lock Runners and walkers: it straps to your palm and resists wind | Gel stream | 0.67 oz | 12 ft (spec table says 12 to 16 ft) | 13 seconds (35 bursts) | SABRE Red Gel (OC; strength not stated on the page) | Yes | Twist lock | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched The SABRE Runner holds a 0.67 oz canister of pepper gel in your palm with a reflective strap, so you aren't gripping it the whole run. SABRE gives 13 seconds and 35 bursts. Its page lists both 12 ft and 12 to 16 ft for range, so plan on 12. Gel travels as a sticky stream, so wind blows less of it back at you than a spray. Best for Runners and walkers: it straps to your palm and resists wind Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you'd rather carry it on keys than on your hand. | ||||||||
Stream · 0.54 oz · 12 to 14 ft · 10 seconds · SABRE Red (OC; strength not stated on the page) · Yes · Twist lock An everyday keychain spray you can unclip from your keys in one move | Stream | 0.54 oz | 12 to 14 ft | 10 seconds | SABRE Red (OC; strength not stated on the page) | Yes | Twist lock | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched SABRE gives this keychain canister 0.54 oz, a 12 to 14 ft stream and 10 seconds of spray, with UV marking dye and a twist-lock safety. The quick-release ring lets you take it off your keys before you need it. SABRE doesn't print the formula's strength on the page, and it won't ship this model to Alaska, Hawaii, Massachusetts or New York. Best for An everyday keychain spray you can unclip from your keys in one move Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you live in New York or Massachusetts: SABRE won't ship it there, and both states limit who may sell self-defense spray. | ||||||||
Gel stream · 1.5 oz · 15 to 20 ft · 6 seconds · SABRE Red Gel (OC; strength not stated on the page) · Yes · Flip top A bigger gel canister for a bag, belt or bedside, indoors or in wind | Gel stream | 1.5 oz | 15 to 20 ft | 6 seconds | SABRE Red Gel (OC; strength not stated on the page) | Yes | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched SABRE's Crossfire gel holds 1.5 oz and reaches 15 to 20 ft, further than the keychain sizes, and it sprays at any angle, even upside down. Gel is the type to pick for use indoors or in wind: SABRE says it doesn't spread through the air like a spray. It gives 6 seconds of spray, shorter than the small units. SABRE won't ship it to Alaska, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York or South Carolina. Best for A bigger gel canister for a bag, belt or bedside, indoors or in wind Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you live in New Jersey or South Carolina, where SABRE won't ship this size. | ||||||||
Stream · 0.75 fl oz · Up to 12 ft · Up to 10 seconds (up to 20 bursts) · 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids · Flip top Runners who want a glove rather than a strap | Stream | 0.75 fl oz | Up to 12 ft | Up to 10 seconds (up to 20 bursts) | 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids | — | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched POM's Runner puts a 0.75 fl oz unit in the palm of a stretch glove that fits either hand, with a flip-top cap that stays shut while you run. POM gives up to 20 bursts or 10 seconds to about 12 ft and publishes its 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoid formula. It comes in two sizes, so check the fit. Best for Runners who want a glove rather than a strap Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you'd rather not wear a glove; SABRE's Runner uses a hand strap instead. | ||||||||
Inert stream (no pepper) · 0.54 oz · 12 to 14 ft · 10 seconds · Inert: no pepper irritant · Flip top Practicing the draw, aim and spray before you ever need the real thing | Inert stream (no pepper) | 0.54 oz | 12 to 14 ft | 10 seconds | Inert: no pepper irritant | — | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched This inert canister has no pepper in it but works like SABRE's live flip-top keychain spray, with the same 0.54 oz size, 12 to 14 ft range and 10 seconds. Spraying a few targets outdoors shows you how far it reaches, how the cap opens and how wind moves the stream, without the burn. SABRE also sells a twist-lock version to match its twist-lock sprays. Best for Practicing the draw, aim and spray before you ever need the real thing Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you carry a POM spray: POM sells its own inert units that match its flip top. | ||||||||
Stream · 7.2 fl oz · Up to 20 ft · Up to 10 seconds (over 20 bursts) · 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids · Safety pin A pistol-grip unit kept at home, not carried | Stream | 7.2 fl oz | Up to 20 ft | Up to 10 seconds (over 20 bursts) | 10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids | — | Safety pin | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched POM's Home Defense unit is a 7.2 fl oz canister in a pistol grip with a safety pin, reaching up to 20 ft. It's for keeping at home, not carrying: that size is over the limits some states set, such as California's 2.5 oz, so check your state before you buy. It's a stream, not a gel: SABRE and Mace say gel spreads less in the air than spray. Best for A pistol-grip unit kept at home, not carried Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you live in California, whose law allows no more than 2.5 ounces net weight, or want a spray to carry. At this size it's also outside Florida's two-ounce definition of a self-defense chemical spray. | ||||||||
Stream · Up to 12 ft · 10% OC · Yes · Flip top A keychain spray in a hard case with a quick-release ring | Stream | — | Up to 12 ft | — | 10% OC | Yes | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched Mace's hard-case keychain spray reaches up to 12 ft with a 10% OC formula and UV dye, behind a flip-top cap, and the keyring releases quickly. Mace doesn't publish its size, spray time or burst count, which makes it harder to compare. Its FAQ gives its sprays a 4-year shelf life. Best for A keychain spray in a hard case with a quick-release ring Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you want to know exactly how much spray you're carrying. | ||||||||
Gel stream · Up to 20 ft · 10% OC · Yes · Flip top A belt-clip gel with a long reach | Gel stream | — | Up to 20 ft | — | 10% OC | Yes | Flip top | |
Our verdictOur verdictResearched Mace's Magnum 3 sprays gel up to 20 ft with a 10% OC formula and UV dye, behind a flip-top cap, with a belt clip. Like the other Mace models it doesn't publish its size or spray time, so you can't compare how long it lasts against SABRE's or POM's figures. Best for A belt-clip gel with a long reach Good
Worth knowing
Who shouldn't buy it: Don't buy it if you want a published spray time. | ||||||||
ⓘ As an Amazon Associate, PreparedStates earns from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. When two products are close, commission can decide which one we pick. A clearly better product always wins. Amazon prices come from Amazon's own product data and can change at any time.
Before you buy
Gel, stream or fog.
Gel comes out as a sticky stream: SABRE says it has no in-air atomization, so it only affects the person it hits, and Mace says gel reduces wind blowback, which makes gel the pick for wind and for indoors. A stream spray is a narrow jet that needs aiming. A cone fog, which Fox Labs sells in some sizes, comes out as a spreading cone of spray rather than a narrow jet.
Practice with an inert trainer.
SABRE and POM sell practice canisters with no pepper in them that work like their live sprays. Fox Labs says nobody should use pepper spray for the first time in an adversarial situation. Fox Labs advises practicing outside, away from other people and animals, with any wind at your back: learn how the cap opens, how far it reaches and what wind does to it.
Check the expiration date and replace it.
Mace says its sprays have a 4-year shelf life and that you should replace a can after using it in self-defense, rather than assume there's enough left. POM prints the date on the bottom of the metal canister. California's law requires a label giving the date the spray's useful life ends.
Strength figures don't compare well.
Makers quote OC percentage, major capsaicinoids or Scoville heat units, and Mace's own glossary says OC percentages can be misleading. POM publishes its formula (10% OC, 1.40% major capsaicinoids); SABRE's product pages don't give a figure. Michigan's law caps OC at 18%.
Flip top or twist lock.
A flip-top cap opens with your thumb as you aim. A twist lock is turned before you press: Mace's instructions say to rotate it to the right to unlock, then press. SABRE says a twist lock helps prevent accidental discharge in a purse or bag.
Heat and cold.
POM says not to store its sprays above 120°F or below 32°F and to avoid keeping them in the car, as big temperature swings can make a unit leak. Mace also warns against temperature extremes.
Size and your state.
Some states limit size: California's law allows no more than 2.5 ounces net weight, and Florida's definition of a "self-defense chemical spray" covers no more than two ounces of chemical. Bigger cans don't always spray longer, so check each maker's spray time. Makers won't ship some models to some states, so check the state rules below before you buy.
Pepper spray laws: the rules in states with their own limits
Each state writes its own rules, and some cities add more. These are the states with specific limits we could read in the law itself; each line gives the law and the date of the copy we read. It's a summary, not legal advice: check your state and city rules before you buy or carry.
California
Anyone may buy, have or use tear gas solely for self-defense. California's law defines tear gas as any substance meant to cause temporary discomfort or injury by being vaporized or otherwise dispersed in the air. That right doesn't extend to someone convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault, someone convicted of misusing it, or someone addicted to a narcotic drug. No one may sell or give it to a minor, and minors may not buy, have or use it. It must be an aerosol spray (no projectiles) holding no more than 2.5 ounces net weight, and the label must give the date its useful life ends.Source: Cal. Penal Code §22810 and §17240 (California Legislative Information; copies of Aug 11, 2026 and Jul 23, 2025), read Nov 4, 2026
Florida
A "self-defense chemical spray" is carried solely for lawful self-defense, compact, designed to be carried on the person, and holds not more than two ounces of chemical. A spray that meets this is excluded from the law's "chemical weapon or device".Source: Fla. Stat. §790.001 (Florida Legislature), read Nov 4, 2026
Massachusetts
Only sellers licensed under chapter 140, section 122 may sell self-defense spray. Under-18s need a self-defense spray permit to have one, and licensed sellers may not sell to an under-18 without one.Source: Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140 §122C (Massachusetts Legislature; copy of Aug 19, 2026), read Nov 4, 2026
Michigan
A self-defense spray or foam device may hold a solution of not more than 18% oleoresin capsicum (OC), with or without ultraviolet dye, or not more than 35 grams of CS tear gas and inert ingredients combined, and nothing else that disables. Spraying it at someone is a misdemeanor, except reasonable use of an OC device (up to 18%) to protect a person or property where physical force would be justified. Selling one to a minor is a misdemeanor.Source: Mich. Comp. Laws §750.224d (Michigan Legislature; copy of Feb 7, 2026), read Nov 4, 2026
New York
You may have a pocket-sized self-defense spray to protect a person or property, and use it only where physical force would be justified; the type of device must meet state Health Department rules. No one under 18, or anyone convicted of a felony or any assault, may have one. Only licensed firearms dealers, licensed pharmacists or vendors approved by the State Police may sell it; the seller must check proof of age and take a sworn statement that you have no felony or assault conviction, and may sell no more than two at one time. SABRE, POM and Mace don't ship to New York addresses.Source: N.Y. Penal Law §265.20(a)(14) and (15) (New York State Senate; copy of Aug 11, 2026), read Nov 4, 2026
Washington
Under-18s may not buy or have a personal protection spray unless they are at least 14 and have a parent's or guardian's permission. Cities, counties and other local governments may not ban adults, or permitted 14- to 17-year-olds, from buying or having one.Source: Rev. Code Wash. §9.91.160 (Washington State Legislature), read Nov 4, 2026
Flying
Never in your carry-on. TSA allows one 4 fl oz (118 ml) container of mace or pepper spray in checked baggage, if it has a safety mechanism to prevent accidental discharge. Sprays with more than 2 percent by mass of tear gas (CS or CN) aren't allowed in checked bags, and TSA suggests checking with your airline, as some may not allow it.Source: TSA: What can I bring? Self-defense sprays (last updated Mar 29, 2023; copy of Apr 30, 2026), read Nov 4, 2026
Federal buildings
Federal law bans firearms and other dangerous weapons in federal facilities, and a notice must be posted at each public entrance. The law doesn't name pepper spray, so read the sign at the door, ask, or leave it at home.Source: 18 U.S.C. §930 (via Cornell LII), read Nov 4, 2026
Schools, workplaces and events
Schools, colleges, workplaces, stadiums and other venues set their own rules. Check before you bring one.
Not every state is listed: we only include rules we could read in the state's own law. Other states, such as Wisconsin, Hawaii and New Jersey, may have their own rules that we couldn't check this time, so look up your state's law, and check your city's rules too.
We verify every product's specifications against at least two independent sources, re-check its US price and stock on a schedule where we can track it automatically, and cross-check safety-relevant claims against official guidance. Every review is labeled Researched or Used and reviewed by us: where we've bought a product, or been sent it free, and used it ourselves, its review says which; where we haven't, our verdict is a considered spec-and-evidence comparison, not a hands-on test. When two products are close, commission can decide which one we pick. A clearly better product always wins. Read our full methodology →
Related gear comparisons
Guides that go with this
Common questions
Is pepper spray legal in every state?
Pepper spray is sold for self-defense across the US, but states can set their own rules, such as limits on size, strength, age or who may sell it, and some cities add their own. The state rules on this page cover states with specific limits, read from their laws. If yours isn't listed, check your state and city rules before you buy or carry.
Can I take pepper spray on a plane?
Not in your carry-on. TSA allows one 4 fl oz (118 ml) container of mace or pepper spray in checked baggage if it has a safety mechanism to prevent accidental discharge, and bans self-defense sprays with more than 2 percent by mass of tear gas (CS or CN) in checked bags. TSA also suggests checking with your airline, as some may not allow it.
How long does pepper spray last?
Check the date on the can. Mace gives its sprays a 4-year shelf life and says to replace a can after you've used it in self-defense. POM prints the expiration date on the bottom of its metal canister.
Is gel better than spray?
Gel is better in wind and indoors: makers say it travels as a stream that sticks to what it hits, with less blowback. A spray stream is a narrow jet that needs aiming. Whichever you choose, practice with an inert trainer so you know how to aim it.
What's a good self-defense choice for older adults?
Pick something you can open and aim easily: a flip-top cap needs only your thumb. Practice with an inert trainer to check your grip. A personal alarm is a simple alternative that needs no aiming. Either way, getting away and calling 911 come first.
Can I bring pepper spray into a federal building?
Federal law bans dangerous weapons in federal facilities, and a notice must be posted at each public entrance. The law doesn't name pepper spray, so read the sign at the door or leave it at home. Schools, courthouses, workplaces and venues set their own rules too.
Sources (16)
- Cal. Penal Code §22810
- Fla. Stat. §790.001
- Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140 §122C
- Mich. Comp. Laws §750.224d
- N.Y. Penal Law §265.20
- Rev. Code Wash. §9.91.160
- TSA: Self-defense sprays
- 18 U.S.C. §930: Federal facilities
- Mace: Frequently asked questions (shelf life)
- Mace: Pepper spray glossary
- SABRE: Pepper gel keychain (gel vs spray)
- POM: Runner pepper spray (storage)
- Mace: Twist lock pepper spray
- SABRE: Runner pepper gel (twist lock)
- Fox Labs: About our pepper spray
- Fox Labs: Training units